Virtual Networking Forum

Virtual Summer Networking Forum for Diverse 1L Law Students

While focusing on ending racial injustices across the world, law firms and legal departments also need to stay vigilant and take intentional actions to increase equity and diversity in the legal profession.

With major support from the five founding law firms (Eversheds Sutherland, Goodwin, Nixon Peabody, Orrick, and Stoel Rives) and 25+ legal departments, MTN is hosting a 10-week Virtual Summer Networking Forum for 1L diverse law students.

This effort is focused on increasing the pipeline of diverse students across the country — with a specific focus on racial and ethnic minorities — attending and graduating from law school. 

Knowing that many diverse 1L students’ summer internships were cancelled or condensed, our goal is to help them build relationships with influential members of the legal community, learn the unwritten rules of succeeding in law, and ensure that they have career-building internships/jobs going forward.

Overview

The Forum is not a replacement for diverse students’ internships. Rather, it is designed to supplement truncated or cancelled summer experiences and provide students with the opportunity to hear from law firm and corporate legal department leaders on a variety of topics, including: (1) the current state of the marketplace through the lens of specific industry sectors, (2) the distinct roles of in-house counsel versus outside counsel and how they collaborate to prevent and solve business issues, (3) the traits and competencies of successful lawyers, and (4) career-enhancing tips and techniques. Most importantly, each session of the Forum will incorporate small group networking so that the students can meet, get to know, and ask questions of law firm and legal departments practitioners in an informal setting and make additional professional connections in the legal industry.  

Who’s Invited

The Forum is open to diverse 1L summer interns at MTN firms and legal departments, as well as those organizations participating in the 1L MTN Pipeline Collective. The Forum is also open to diverse 1L students participating in other affiliated internship programs and organizations such as, but not limited to, LCLD, the Law in Technology Diversity Collaborative, Diverse Attorney Pipeline Program, Corporate Counsel Women of Color, and Twin Cities Diversity in Practice. 

Scheduling/Timing

The Forum is hosted virtually once a week on Thursdays from June 25th to August 27th starting at 9am PT/12pm ET and concluding at 12pm PT/3pm ET (or earlier on some weeks).  The schedule of industry topics, speakers, and agenda follows. 

For more details, please contact Lindsey Boyle at Lindsey@DiversityLab.com

Preliminary Schedule

Date Topic Faculty
June 25th Financial Services & Banking Jason Halpern, VP & Managing Counsel, American Express;
Tangela Richter, Senior Vice President and Managing Counsel, American Express;
Yanira Wong, Assistant GC, Chime;
Raina Mehta, Senior Counsel - Real Estate, PNC Bank;
Stephanie Grise, VP & Assistant GC, US Bank;
Katie Blaszak, Partner, Eversheds Sutherland;
Greg Doran, Partner, Nixon Peabody;
Kathleen Burns-Ceglarski, Partner, Nixon Peabody
July 2nd Healthcare & Life Sciences Yoriko Hayes, Director and Corporate Counsel, Delta Dental;
Cristina Fernandez, VP Managed Market, US Legal Operations, GlaxoSmithKline;
Mark Zemelman, GC, Kaiser Permanente;
Tamara Morgan, Senior Counsel, Kaiser Permanente;
Connie Matteo, Assistant GC, Pfizer;
James Xu, Partner, Goodwin;
Valerie Breslin Montague, Partner, Nixon Peabody;
Hannah Bornstein, Partner, Nixon Peabody
July 9th Successful Lawyering Skills — Developing & Communicating a Professional Narrative & Brand as a Law Student Mary Herrington, Associate Director of Career Advising, Columbia Law School;
Ashley Nelson, Director of Legal Talent Acquisition, Goodwin;
Marsha Hunter, CEO & Managing Consultant, Johnson & Hunter;
Grover Cleveland, Career Advisor, Lessons for Sharks;
Leslie Hom, Principal and Executive Coach, Next Step Partners;
Malini Nangia, Executive Coach, Volta People
July 16th Technology – Public Company Christophe Mosby, Associate GC, HP;
Bonnie Pierson-Murphy, VP and Assistant GC, L&E Managing Attorney, IBM;
Kristin Sverchek, GC, Lyft;
Rachel Yuen, Deputy GC & Director, Legal, SurveyMonkey;
Delma Locke, Associate GC, Commercial, U4B, Uber Health and CLO Operations, Uber;
Aravind Swaminathan, Partner, Orrick;
Carolyn Frantz, Partner, Orrick
July 23rd Technology – Emerging Co./Startup Hasani Caraway, GC, Zendesk;
Mark Kahn, GC & VP of Policy, Segment;
Michelle Fang, VP & Chief Legal Officer, Turo;
XiXi Tian, Associate Corporate Counsel, Google Fiber;
Mary Hull, Partner, Stoel Rives
July 30th Energy & Environmental Chasity Henry, SVP, GC & Corporate Secretary, CECO;
Celeste Quiralte, Senior Counsel, ExxonMobile;
Malisheia Douglas, Counsel, Eaton;
Giji John, Partner, Orrick;
Louise Gibbons, Partner, Orrick;
Tim Taylor, Partner, Stoel Rives
August 6th Successful Lawyering Skills —
Building Resilience & Lessons
Learned While Job Hunting in a Recession
Karen Masciulli, Director of Legal Talent, Colorado AG’s Office;
Theresa DeLoach, Director of Business Development, Goodwin Law;
Jan Anne Dubin, Executive Coach, Jan Anne Dubin Consulting
August 13th Manufacturing, Retail & Distribution Maureen Harms, Associate GC & Managing Counsel, 3M;
Cherrita Taylor, Associate GC, Rosetta Stone;
Brittany Johnson, Corporate Counsel, Starbucks;
Jose Patino, Partner, Eversheds Sutherland;
Scott McLaughlin, Partner, Eversheds Sutherland
August 20th Sports, Entertainment & Media Cassie McBride, GC, Jacksonville Jaguars;
Jeremy Kaufman, VP, IP Counsel, Netflix;
Kobie Conner, Director, Business Legal Affairs, Netflix;
Matt Schafer, Associate GC, ViacomCBS;
Naomi Waltman, EVP and Associate GC, ViacomCBS;
Bernadette Beekman, Board Chair, Upward Women
August 27th Global Businesses Sonia Galindo, SVP, GC, FLIR Systems

Sample Daily Schedule — Industry Segments

9:00am PT/12:00pm ET Welcome Remarks/Introductions
9:10am PT/12:10pm ET Industry Panel of In-House Lawyers, Larger Group
10:00am PT/1:00pm ET Break
10:15am PT/1:15pm ET Group Exercise (By Table)
10:45am PT/1:45pm ET Reporting Back from Exercise, Large Group
11:15am PT/2:15pm ET Round of Networking (By Table)
11:45am PT/2:45pm ET Pearls of Wisdom, Larger Group
12:00pm PT/3:00pm ET Program Concludes

Sample Schedule — Successful Lawyering Segments

9:00am PT/12:00pm ET Welcome Remarks/Introductions
9:15am PT/12:15pm ET Topic Presentation, Large Group
9:45am PT/12:45pm ET 1st Round of Networking, Practice/Discuss Presentation Topic (By Table)
10:05am PT/1:05pm ET Break
10:15am PT/1:15pm ET Topic Presentation, Large Group
10:45am PT/1:45pm ET 2nd Round of Networking, Practice/Discuss Presentation Topic (By Table)
11:05am PT/2:05pm ET Reporting Back & Pearls of Wisdom, Large Group
11:30am PT/2:30pm ET Program Concludes